Hilda Oja was born in 1922. She became a lighthouse keeper in 1963 (being 41 at that time).
After World War II, the keeper of the Suurupi lower lighthouse, Elmar Kares, became the keeper of the upper lighthouse. At that time the keeper of the lower lighthouse was the landlord Johannes Mänd. He left in 1963 and Hilda Oja, became lighthouse keeper. Hilda was on duty for 10 years. Officially, some man was registered as a lighthouse keeper. It’s not known exactly, why. In those days of Hilda Oja, 1963-1973, there was a gas light in the lighthouse.
In 1973, when Hilda Oja quit the lighthouse keeper’s position, the lighthouse went over to electricity. After the connection of electricity, the lower lighthouse was controlled from the upper lighthouse and the position of keeper of the lower lighthouse was eliminated.
The buildings next to the lighthouse belonged to the sons of Hilda Oja in early 2000. Avo Oja lived in a former lighthouse sauna, built in 1906. The living house of the lighthouse people was owned by Avo’s brother, Edvard Oja. They acquired the buildings by privatisation.
The Oja brothers sold the buildings.